The Lewes Old Grammar School Trust

Lewes Old Grammar School is owned by the Lewes Old Grammar School Trust a Company Registered in England and Wales Number: 9561129

Registered Office: Tyne House, 140 High Street, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 1XS

Lewes Old Grammar School Trust is a registered Charity: Charity Number 1163491

The Lewes Old Grammar School Charitable Trust was set up in December 1988 at the instigation of the then proprietor of the School, Mr R E Mead, to ensure the continuing existence of the School after his retirement. 

The charity, which is the owner of the School and its buildings, is supervised by the Trustees who appoint the Headmaster/mistress, Deputy Head and Bursar.  The Trustees have ultimate responsibility for the management of the School and are responsible for setting the fees and approving the budget.

The Headmaster/mistress is responsible for the day to day running of the School. He/she will discuss with the Trustees the broad policies, plans and procedures which support the development of the School and will be responsible for implementing these policies. The Trustees meet regularly with the Head and other members of staff as appropriate and have established sub-committees to advise on Finance, Education and Management, Information Technology and Health and Safety and Estate Management.

There are currently ten Trustees:

Mr M P Chartier Esq.  Chairman

Mrs J Brooks

Mrs A Clarke 

Mr A Harvey Esq

Mr J Light Esq 

Mr A Ogden Esq. Vice- Chairman 

Mrs F J O’Halloran

Mrs R Swindells

Mr W Telford Esq

Dr C Watts

The Bursar and Clerk to the Trust is Mr T Laker

The Chair of Trustees can be contacted in writing:

Mr M P Chartier
c/o Lewes Old Grammar School
Tyne House
140 High Street
East Sussex

Trustee Information and Application Forms
Role Description
Application Form